Demo Derby and Other results from Whiteside County Fair

Four members of the Whiteside County Fair Board of Directors were elected to three-year terms Saturday, the final day of this year’s annual five-day run. The four were elected by ballots cast by exhibitors and season-ticket holders.  The four directors elected were : Dana Fox, Morrison; Karl Kovarik, Tampico; Brad Noble, Morrison; and John Wiersema, Morrison.

Demo Derby

Brad Bielma of Morrison took first place in the Open Wire Division at the 151st Annual Whiteside County Fair’s Saturday Demolition Derby.  

Mini Vans

  1. Brandon Wyatt, Sterling; 2. Chase Hubbard, Rock Falls; 3. Joey Fortune, Sterling

Mad Dog – Joey Fortune, Sterling


  1. Lonnie Bresley, Sterling; 2. Karson Strohmyer, Sterling; 3. Alan Wright, Sterling Mad Dog – Alan Wright Sterling

Open Wire

  1. Brad Bielma, Morrison; 2. Levi Harris, Morrison; 3. Tyler Bielma, Sterling Mad Dog – Zach Thomure, Milledgeville

The rainy day didn’t dampen the enthusiasm of the youngsters as they clutched the steering wheels and with determination in their eyes, made some awesome pulls.  With the normal location wet and drizzly, the pull was moved to under the roof of the gracious Beef Producers Pavilion.  59 youngsters took their turns at their chance to take home the top prizes in the second round of the Whiteside County Fair’s Children’s Tractor Pedal Pulls on Saturday.

Results to follow…Whiteside County Fair 2022

                                                 TWO WHEEL DRIVE

Four Year Olds and Under

  1. Cayson Wolf, Franklin Grove Full Pull Full Pull
  2. Brayden Deuth, Polo Full Pull 17 ft 2 in
  3. Elijah Vander Molen, Morrison Full Pull 11 ft 5 in

Five Years Old

  1. Cayson Deets, Morrison Full Pull 29 ft 8 in
  2. Oaklyn Wolf, Franklin Grove Full Pull 24 ft 1 in
  3. Kyson Hockman, Morrison 39 ft 1 in

Six Years Old

  1. Drew Houzenga, Morrison 39 ft 8 in
  2. Rhett Boelens, Atkinson 22 ft 8 in
  3. Maverick Tucker, Morrison 20 ft

Seven Years Old

  1. Kyle Schroeder, Clinton, IA Full Pull
  2. Raelynn Klockenga, Morrison 24 ft 2 in
  3. Cora Stralow, Morrison 23 ft 1 in

Eight Years Old

  1. Callan Finch, Galva Full Pull Full Pull
  2. Cooper Houzenga, Morrison Full Pull 34 ft 7 in
  3. Matthew Gerken, Berwyn Full Pull 23 ft 2 in

                                                FOUR WHEEL DRIVE

Nine and Ten Years Old

  1. Buck Hill, Morrison Full Pull 38 ft 6 in
  2. Liam Copeland, Erie Full Pull 27 ft 4 in
  3. Cohen Wroble, Morrison Full Pull 23 ft 1 in

Eleven and Twelve Years Old

  1. Chloe Finch, Galva Full Pull
  2. Brody Tucker, Morrison 34 ft 9 in
  3. Lane Decker, Morrison 30 ft 

Truck and Tractor Pull

Pullers showed their muscle as they maneuvered their modified trucks and tractors in front of the Whiteside County Fair’s Grandstand during Friday night’s traditional “Pullers” event. Winners placed in the class divisions sanctioned by the Illini State Pullers.

Results to follow . . 


CLASS 1 – 11,000 Lb. Too Hot To Farm Tractors

  1. Ian Radtke, Washington;  2. Payton Rose, Kewanee;  3. Danial Koch, Princeton

CLASS 2 – 6,000 Lb. Naturally Aspirated Tractors

  1. Dwight Frick, Mendota;  2. Nate Smith, Amboy;  3. Ken Mersman, Paw Paw

 Class 3 – 7,000 Lb. Naturally Aspirated / Pro-Field Tractors

  1. Roy Book, Morrison;  2. Doug Bend, Shabonna;  3. Steve Little, Rollo


CLASS 4 – 6,200 Lb. Super Stock Trucks

  1. Neal Rogers, Paw Paw;  2. Tim Merchant, Serena;  3. Brandon Baxter, LaSalle

CLASS 5 – 6,500 Lb. Light Pro Stock Trucks

  1. Jake Thompson, Ottawa;  2. Ajay Jess, Earville;  3. Jason Wehrli, Sandwich

CLASS 6 – 6,800 Lb. Stock Gas Trucks

  1. Eric Hill, Ottawa;  2. Ron Wilslef, Miles, IA;  3. Eric Schreiber, Goose Lake

CLASS 7 – 8,000 Lb. Stock Diesel Trucks

  1. Dustin Heldt, Lanark;  2. Noah Lee, LaMoille;  3. Brad Smith, Morrison


Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *