Full details revealed about AXS TV special documenting all-star Eddie Money tribute concert

Credit: Stewart Volland
Credit: Stewart Volland

Full details have been announced about the AXS TV special documenting the star-studded Eddie Money tribute concert held last week in Beverly Hills, California.

The two-hour program, simply titled Eddie Money Tribute Concert, will premiere Sunday, March 22, at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT. The show features performances by Sammy Hagar, REO Speedwagon‘s Kevin Cronin and Dave Amato, George Thorogood, Starship singer Mickey Thomas, Greg Kihn, Tommy Tutone, John Waite and Metallica frontman James Hetfield.  Three of Eddie’s children — Jesse, Dez and Julian — also appear.

The concert, hosted by comedian Louie Anderson, also included video tributes from also Huey Lewis, Joan Jett, Steve Miller, Loverboy, Boston, Dennis DeYoung and actor Kevin James. James’ clip featured the actor sharing recollections of how Money sang at his wedding, and included footage from the happy event.

AXS TV also will celebrate Money with a marathon screening of both seasons of Eddie’s reality show Real Money, beginning at 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT on Saturday, March 21, which would have been the singer’s 71st birthday.

The series focused on Eddie’s life and sometimes-dysfunctional relationships with his wife, Laurie, and his five children: Jesse, Dez, Julian, Zach and Joe.

“AXS TV was a big part of our lives for the past two years while we shot Real Money and we are so pleased to have them onboard as the exclusive home for Eddie’s memorable tribute event,” Laurie Money says in a statement.

“We are so excited that others will now have the opportunity to witness the outpouring of love and support that Eddie and our family received from his music peers through this concert.”

Here is a full list of performances from the tribute show:

“Baby Hold On” — Jesse, Dez and Julian Money
“Trinidad” — Tommy Tutone
“Walk on Water” — Mickey Thomas
“Save a Little Room” — John Waite
“No Control” — Greg Kihn
“Money (That’s What I Want)” — George Thorogood
“Think I’m In Love” — Kevin Cronin and Dave Amato
“Wanna Go Back” — Jesse and Dez Money
“Baby Hold On” — James Hetfield
“Shakin'” — Sammy Hagar with Jesse, Dez and Julian Money
“Take Me Home Tonight” — Dez and Jesse Money
“Two Tickets to Paradise” — Finale, all the performers

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *