Spoon River College Holds 62nd Commencement Ceremony

Spoon River College held their 62nd Commencement on May 11th at the Canton Campus. Approximately 126 participated in the ceremony.

CANTON, IL – Spoon River College held their 62nd Commencement Thursday, May 11, at the Multi-Purpose Building on the Canton Campus. Approximately 126 students participated in the ceremony, and several students and two faculty members were recognized for their achievements during the event.

President of Spoon River College, Dr. Curt Oldfield, welcomed guests, as did Jerry Cremer, Chair of the SRC Board of Trustees, Bridget Loftus, Chair of the Spoon River College Faculty Association, and Zoey Lane, who served as the 2022-2023 Student Trustee. Missy Wilkinson, Dean of Student Services, recognized members of the Phi Theta Kappa All-Illinois Academic Team. Those students were:

  • Joshua Bryan (transfer student from Macomb)
  • Zoey Lane (transfer student from Havana)
  • Chester Ruff (Career and Technical Education student from Macomb).

Also recognized for academic excellence were Phi Theta Kappa members who earned a perfect 4.0 graduation grade point. They were:

  • Joshua Bryan
  • Isabel Escapa
  • Trinity Friedrich
  • Zoey Lane
  • Bella Markley
  • Lael McKee
  • Clayton McKinstry
  • Henry Mordiva
  • Lindsey Morgan

Savanah Smith-Coulter, 2023-2024 Student Trustee, presented Student Achievement awards to transfer student Lael McKee of Macomb, who graduated with an Associate in Arts degree and will be attending Western Illinois University, and to career and technical education student Henry Mordiva of Rushville, who earned an Associate in Applied Science degree as well as certificates in Computer Forensics, Computer User Support Specialist, and Cyber Security. Both are members of Phi Theta Kappa and were named to the President’s List. Mordiva was also a member of the All-Illinois Academic Team in 2022.

Holly Norton, Vice President of Educational and Student Services, presented faculty awards for teaching excellence. Shelli Stuart (Math) was the recipient of the Spoon River College Outstanding Full-Time Faculty Award and Illinois Community College Trustee Association Outstanding Full-Time Faculty nominee. Beth VanTine (Math), was the recipient of the H. Truman Standard award. Dallas Davis and Brooke Hampton served as Student Honor Guards.

Joshua Bryan of Macomb receiving his Associate in Arts degree at the Spoon River College Commencement held May 11. Bryan was also honored for maintaining a perfect 4.0 graduation grade point, and for being named to the All-Illinois Academic Team.
Lael McKee, of Macomb, was the recipient of a Student Achievement at the college’s 62nd Commencement held May 11. McKee, who earned an Associate in Arts degree, will be transferring to WIU. While at Spoon River College, McKee was named to the President’s List, was a member of Phi Theta Kappa, and a member of the volleyball team.


Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *